Catriona
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Exceptional...

We had the absolute pleasure of getting married at this stunning town of Anghiari. We hired the whole villa for a week for a family holiday & wedding and had a wonderful time. We live overseas and the planning of the wedding was made so much easier by (owner) Laura - she made fantastic recommendations for everything right down to a wedding vehicle and there was nothing to worry about at all. The best part of the whole event was our wedding dinner when she had what felt like her whole family come and cater for us, they must have been in the kitchen for 12 hours at least! We had such a wonderful relaxing time here. The villa was as described, beautifully clean and the attention to detail with furniture is exceptional.
Sep 2017
Penelope
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Charming villa, amazing food & incredible host.

Nestling in the Tuscan hills, 5 minutes drive out of Anghiari, this villa was an ideal place for a family celebration. The villa is extensive and has a large pool set away from the property making it great for the boisterous children. There are no immediate neighbours so there is no need to worry about disturbing the neighbours. On arrival the owner showed me round so I could decide where all the family would stay. After a long journey I was not prepared for the long list of does and don'ts I had from the owner. Apart from this the owner was very helpful and made me a lovely cake for my birthday. All in all we had a wonderful time, Anghiari is a little gem and there are some fantastic places to eat nearby.
Jul 2017
Andrew
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

My Family and I will always remember the great time we had at the villa.

The ground and buildings are absolutely beautiful. Apparently the villa over its long history went from a monastery to a tobacco farm and is now a villa. We went in early July and the country side was warm/hot during the day and cool at night. Which enabled us to use the pool often during the day. The pool was a good size. And then at night it was cool enough not to use the air conditioning although it does have air conditioning if needed. The cool breeze came over the mountain and came right through the house making for great sleeping conditions. Having one building with one bedroom and then another building with two bedrooms with the remaining bedrooms in the main house worked out perfectly for our group. Laura (the owner) was there when needed to make sure everything was taken care of. We had four dinners and three breakfasts prepared by Laura and the villa staff and all were wonderful. The last night being especially wonderful with the home made ravioli followed by a grilled strip steak. The villa was wonderful but I also have to mention the area around the villa as well. The town of Anghiari is a 5 minute drive away. We had made a wrong turn trying to find the Villa and came down a road right next to Anghiari and everyone in both vans jaws dropped. It is something to see sitting on top of a hill with its 50 foot walls protecting the city. There is an elevator at the bottom of the wall that takes you up to the sightseeing terrace at the top of the wall which looks out over the valley. There is parking at the bottom of the wall which made for easy access. Walking the street of Anghiari was something out of a dream. Other places we visited from the villa were La Verna (40 minutes) which is where Saint Francis of Assisi experienced the stigmata. It is an amazing Monastery at the top of Mount Penna. The views and grounds are something to behold. We also had lunch and tasted local olive oil. We travelled to Arezzo (30 minutes) for the antique festival. Arezzo is where the movie 'Life is Beautiful' was filmed so you can image the beauty there. We traveled to Montalcino for wine tasting which was a little further away (1 1/2 hours) but we were set on Brunello wine. Montepulciano with its wonderful wine which we did not visit is about one hour away. Laura the villa owner had a list of twenty other places to visit which were local (under an hour) that we did not get a chance to visit... It was our first taste of Italy and it surely will not be our last.
Jul 2017
Anonymous
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Thank you for a lovely stay...

We had a marvellous holiday.... The villa is beautiful and perfect for large groups. The owner lives there and was very helpful. The grounds are spacious and peaceful - it is a magical setting.
Jul 2016
Oliver

Wonderful week for four families in Tuscany.

We went as a group of 8 adults (+ 2 nannies) and 7 kids under 3 and had a wonderful week. The set up of the rooms was ideal with most bedrooms having 2nd bedrooms just off them to accommodate the youngsters. The pool is huge and the best spot to while away the hours during the day. The setting of the house is extremely beautiful and peaceful with wonderful views from the top of the garden (just above the pool). Anghiari (just about walkable but better by car (5 mins)) is a delight and a real boon to the holiday. A stunning medieval town with numerous excellent restaurants and incredible views (google them!). I'd highly recommend the outdoor hot springs about 40 minutes from the house - worth the drive. Laura, the owner, lives in a separate house within the grounds and makes herself available only to help the group with any catering/cleaning/day trips and then you don't see her for the rest of the day! She is absolutely lovely and we were so glad to be able to pick her brain on the best things to do locally but also to enjoy her fantastic catering service (usually 5+ courses!). We opted for breakfast each morning, dinner every other evening and a daily clean which made the holiday so much more relaxing and enjoyable. Overall, a great week - which both adults and kids absolutely loved.
Oct 2016
John, Caroline, Abe and Eddie

The ultimate Tuscan experience

We had a wonderful stay with friends at this Villa recently. Laura really looked after us, checking that we had everything week needed and she prepared us the most fabulous Italian breakfasts and dinners, going too extreme lengths to provide us with the best local produce she could find. The villa is in a beautiful area of Tuscany, and we very much enjoyed exploring the local town Anghiari and taking a day-trip to Siena. We would love to go back.
Oct 2016
Sharon
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

We hope to return again for a reunion in the near future.

My family and I recently returned from a week’s stay. We traveled from the US on 20 June, arriving in Venice. Following 3 days in Venice, we rented cars and drove to the villa for the next part of our adventure. We stayed at the Villa from Saturday 24 June until Saturday 1 July. There were 10 total in our group which consisted of my family of 4, my brother’s family of 4, my father and my sister-in law’s father. We were very excited about our stay at the Villa in Tuscany, however, we couldn't fully imagine how amazing it would be yet, as we had only seen pictures on the website. I am writing to express our sincere delight with the villa. We had a spectacular stay and we thought Laura, the owner, was the most wonderful hostess. When we arrived, we were stunned by the beauty of the gardens and grounds, the landscape, and the Villa and 2 country cottages that we would be staying in during our vacation. It was so beautiful with the flowers and the Tuscan hills in the background. We were extremely happy that this was where we booked our stay! The rooms were clean, the décor in each room was beautifully designed and the antiques around the Villa made us feel as though we stepped back in time. The pool area was pristine and we truly enjoyed the peaceful and relaxing afternoons spent laying around and swimming in the pool. The kids especially enjoyed the water and running up and down the hills of the property to explore. It was magical. In addition, we thoroughly enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffets prepared by Laura for 4 days of our stay. Not only was the food delicious but the presentation each morning was lovely. Laura puts her “special touch” to everything she does and it is obvious that she truly enjoys her work. We had the pleasure of experiencing 1 dinner on the final evening of our stay at the Villa. Once again, it was beautifully presented and we were treated like VIP guests. The display of homemade food was incredible and each course was 5 stars! Laura is a magnificent chef. Finally, we would HIGHLY recommend this Villa to our family and friends.... We were extremely pleased with our stay and the exceptional service at this gorgeous villa.
Jul 2017
David and Joan
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

We had a wonderful time....

I am writing on behalf of us all ( 3 generations!) after our stay in your beautiful villa. We had a wonderful time. It is situated in a stunning part of Tuscany, and Alghieri is one of the loveliest towns we have visited. It was easy to make day trips, and for those who just wanted to relax round the pool, it got top marks. We appreciated the many seating and dining areas available, both inside and outside the villa. The villa itself has been beautifully furnished, and each room was most comfortable. You have made a superb job of fitting it out, and we lacked nothing. The kitchen was great fun to use (after I mastered the dishwasher!) You were most kind and helpful during our stay, and never made us feel we were being a nuisance when asking questions - you obviously want everyone to have a fabulous stay. Thank you also for being unobtrusive; we never felt you were keeping an eye on us! We have many happy memories of our stay, and hope to return some time in the future. We would recommend you to anyone! We shall keep in touch.
Aug 2018
Need help finding the right property?